Transport Australia society South Australia

The South Australia branch of the TAs.

About the Transport Australia society (TAs) South Australia

The South Australian TAs committee decided to postpone the planned Future Transport seminar to 2016. The South Australian government hosted a very successful two day conference on driverless vehicles in November. It was attended by over 300 delegates who heard international and Australian speakers and viewed demonstrations on the final afternoon.

On the following Saturday morning the government closed a section of the Southern Expressway for the first driverless vehicles trial in the Southern Hemisphere, which was carried out in partnership with Volvo, Telstra and ARRB.

Planning for 2016 is progressing and will include the aforementioned Future Transport seminar, with a focus on solar and autonomous vehicles. It is planned to start the year with a seminar on effective cities.

Other event ideas are:

  • Road Safety three years on from the National Strategy
  • Transport Engineering Education
  • A major project site visit
  • One or more events that will directly contribute to the national policy work of TAs, such as international competitiveness.


Chair Philip Blake
Deputy Chair Neville Peters
Secretary Graham Ackers
Committee Members Rocco Zito
  Richard Hanslip
  Peter Tsokas
  Doug Bowers
  Kerry Van Donderen

Contact us



  • Engineers Australia
  • @EngAustralia - 8 hours hence
Using #robots to test the human use of power tools
  • Engineers Australia
  • @EngAustralia - 6 hours hence
Bendigo mine finds a billion dollars worth of gold
  • Engineers Australia
  • @EngAustralia - 5 hours hence
How innovative engineers capture HD images of historic sunken wrecks using deep-water 3D imaging systems…
  • Engineers Australia
  • @EngAustralia - 3 hours hence
We had a quick chat with @EngAustraliaSA Division President Niki Robinson #GlobalMarathon #EveryDayEngineerSA…
  • Engineers Australia
  • @EngAustralia - 2 hours hence
RT @bendigoicerink: Wow @EngAustralia great "create" article on the BiVACOR , a heart that doesn't beat. Amazing. Well done Aussie Daniel…
  • Engineers Australia
  • @EngAustralia - 2 hours hence
RT @DiscoverEorg: Join our #GlobalMarathon Twitter Chat "Advancing Women in Engineering" featuring @nikirobinson_sa of @EngAustralia! Augus…
  • Engineers Australia
  • @EngAustralia - 8 hours ago
RT @ScienceGovAu: Meet STARportal! A new database for students, parents & teachers to connect w STEM events, workshops, programs &more http…
  • Engineers Australia
  • @EngAustralia - 12 hours ago
We're in the middle of #NatScienceWeek. Make sure to check out the remaining events we're hosting…
  • Engineers Australia
  • @EngAustralia - 14 hours ago
What makes a great #leader? We chat with Deborah Hein, presenter at the WA Leader’s Conference @EngAustraliaWA
  • Engineers Australia
  • @EngAustralia - 14 hours ago
RT @ScienceGovAu: Open for business! New #STARportal database matches students w nearby #STEM activities. Learn more…
  • Engineers Australia
  • @EngAustralia - 16 hours ago
Chatting with #aeronautical engineer and Chief Executive Michael von Bertouch
  • Engineers Australia
  • @EngAustralia - 17 hours ago
Queensland engineers invent new tech to help locate unexploded bombs underwater in the Netherlands @EngAustraliaQld…